paulagr started this topic @ 13:43 on 17/06/2008
Hello,
I've been contacted by a company called ASIA DNR. They have received a formal application from a company who are applying to register" kittyandpolly " as their domain name and Internet brand keyword in in Asia on June.15,2008.
www.kittyandpolly.co.uk and www.kittyandpolly.com are registered to me. However, ASIA DNR have advised 'You must know Domain name takes open registration, this is international domain name registration principle. So Pealud Ltd has right to register them. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. So required by HongKong government to inform your company to protect your interest. But as the company whose trademarks relate to the applied domains, you will get the priority to register these domain names.'
I have no plans to do business in Asia but I'm not sure of the wider implications. Can anyone advise on what is the best course of action here ?
------------------------
www.kittyandpolly.co.uk
Gorgeous accessories and gifts online
RE: Domain name grab ? Need advice
josha | 18/06/2008 07:27 PM
This might help..
http://www.moniker.com/news/legal-issues.jsp
it has links to all the major resolution centers including the Asian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Centre (ADNDRC).
On first glance it all looks a bit daunting but if you read the 'sample UDRP' decisions on the moniker site you can see how the decisions are made. This is of course, assuming it's a genuine dispute and they're not just trying their luck.
Hope this helps.
Josh.
------------------------
www.assuredata.co.uk - Database design/implementation & support
RE: Domain name grab ? Need advice
Manuel | 18/06/2008 10:01 PM
This look like a domain name scam.
see http://www.lwdinternet.co.uk/domains/domain-name-scams.html for some details.
In short, do you want or need a domain name, if the answer is no then don't worry about it after all there are well over one hundred top level domains. if the answer is yes then contact your normal domain name registrar.
don't worry about loosing it, either someone wants the name for some totally unrelated reason and really, why should they not have it? or if they intend to pass themselves off as you in which case there are legal ways of getting the domain off them..
or if you fall for this i've heard that someone want to register www.{yourcompanyname].km and i can register it for you for the very good price of 1 milllllion dollars!
------------------------
manuel.at.nebula-it.co.uk if you want to bother me off this forum.. and feel free to do so.
RE: Domain name grab ? Need advice
Vitaly | 13/07/2008 11:02 PM
this is a classic domain name related scam
------------------------
Email: vitalir1 at gmail com