myprivatehire started this topic @ 10:13 on 14/04/2007
Please help...
I own, started and have created a new (well 8 months ago) website called:
www.MyPrivateHire.com
I will not shame the person just yet, but an Australian web designer has indescriminantly copied and infringed our copyright on the 21st March 2007 by creating:
www.MyPrivateHire.com.au
This person is promoting this website.
1. It has the same domain name, but with the AU domain suffix.
2. The text on the page is a direct copy.
3. The meta tags are a direct copy.
Please can someone advise what my best course of action is...
Anyones help to stop this person from pursuing this would be really appreciated.
many thanks
------------------------
www.MyPrivateHire.com
RE: Urgent Copyright Help Needed....
bwglaw | 14/04/2007 11:49 AM
You should take screengrabs of as much of the site as possible. I note even the page titles are identical amongst everything else.
A sharp letter from a lawyer requesting the site owner to cease and desist should be effective. If that fails a similar letter to the site owner's ISP to remove the contents.
If you would like further advice and costs please do not hesitate to contact me.
Jonathan
------------------------
BWG Commercial Lawyers
Insured Advice, Audits, Drafting & Litigation
advice@bwglaw.co.uk
Member of Hands">href="http://www.handsongroup.co.uk">Hands On Group
RE: RE: Urgent Copyright Help Needed....
myprivatehire | 16/04/2007 10:35 AM
Hi Jonathan
Thanks for your reply...
I emailed a 5 day notice of impending action & he has taking down the website & replaced with the following text (which I still think infringes my copyright):
myprivatehire.com.au
is a new concept being launched to offer individuals the ability to hire out their personal items for cash and to make money.
Owned and operated from Australia, this Website will act as a classifieds advertising portal, providing details about items that individuals have for hire… not for sale – ranging from motorbikes, computers, golf clubs, holiday villas to garages or lockups - in fact users could hire out absolutely anything.
Please bookmark www.myprivatehire.com.au, we are currently in private beta testing but will be online soon!
I will get back you in a couple of days if he hasn't taken any action.
thanks
------------------------
www.MyPrivateHire.com
RE: RE: Urgent Copyright Help Needed....
myprivatehire | 16/04/2007 07:15 PM
Website is going OK - being promoted at every possible opportunity.
Just a bit of a pain when you have someone 'totally' taking the p**s and trying to earn of the back of someone elses hard work.
How could someone buy the same name and with the AU suffix on the end & also copy your text??? are they stupid???
hey ho!!!!
------------------------
www.MyPrivateHire.com
RE: RE: Urgent Copyright Help Needed....
bwglaw | 16/04/2007 09:10 PM
You may wish to consider having a letter sent to him because an infringement has still occurred. This may well prevent the offender from doing it again. By all means, do feel free to email and make reference to this thread so I can recall the facts/issues.
Jonathan
------------------------
BWG Commercial Lawyers
Insured Advice, Audits, Drafting & Litigation
advice@bwglaw.co.uk
Member of Hands">href="http://www.handsongroup.co.uk">Hands On Group